About 2021

1. What have you felt proud of yourself in 2021? What were you doing?

I decided to pursue a research idea that was totally out of my comfort zone and I may have to put a lot of things at stake for it. Some people around me did not think it was a good idea to pursue the project, not because it was not interesting and important, but because it may put too much mental and time restraint on me. I’m proud that I have started working on the project for a few months now, it is progressing, I am constantly learning.

2. If you had to teach one thing you learnt this year (that would improve one’s quality of life), what would that be?

I learnt to drive and got my driver’s license this year, after a lot of procrastination and overthinking. I don’t love driving, but driving is a skill that I need in my life now to be more independent and it helps me explore more options around me.

3. What kept you up at night with excitement this year? Was it worth it? Would you want to do more of it?

  • Seeing friends that I hadn’t seen in a while.
  • Good books.
  • Research.
  • A deep conversation.
  • (Sometimes) good TV shows.

4. How did you have fun differently in 2021?

I was able to travel more this year (two trips, one to NYC and one to visit friends in PA). I made a few new friends and went out more often (getting somewhat better at billiards now but there’s still a long way to go :P). I found a new favorite coffee shop with really good coffee where I often go to read/work/write. I exercise more frequently and found gym classes that I feel excited to go to a few times a week 🙂

5. How did you suffer differently in 2021?

Overthinking, anxiety and depression got worse last year.

6. What people/kind of people did you spend less time with in 2021?

People what I don’t feel at ease around and I can’t be my true self with.

7. What people/kind of people did you spend more time with in 2021?

People that bring me out of my comfort zone and experience new things with me.

8. What did you feel guilty for in 2021?

Admittedly, I always feel guilty that I’m not working enough. But I know that is not true – I work hard and do good work. I may not see that results right away because things take time, but I’m doing enough. If there’s a thing to do better on, I want to be able to concentrate better and have higher quality working hours than longer working hours.

9. What have you learnt about the way that you deal with uncertainty in 2021?

This is my favorite question in this prompt. In short, I learned that I did not deal with uncertainty very well, which contributes to my anxiety. What I have been doing to get better: a lot of therapy, journaling, and the magic spell “release the urge to control everything”.

10. What new habits did you create in 2021? Which ones would you want to keep?

Regular exercising and reading when I feel bored (instead of going on the phone).

11. What things did you stop caring about in 2021?

Politics – too messy and mentally exhausting.

12. What new thing did you spent a lot of money on in 2021?

A “new” car. It didn’t break the bank and is not a fancy car, but it is my first car and I’m proud of it 🙂

13. What new thing did you spent a lot of time on in 2021?

Learning some specific topics/skills for my research. Worth the pain 🙂

14. What do you feel you’ve gotten a lot better at in 2021?

Recognizing my emotions and when I need help.

15. When you felt at peace this year, what were you doing?

I stopped caring about what certain things meant, what they would end up at, how I could control them or work on to get them better. I felt at peace when I enjoyed things as they are.

16. Which of last year’s goals did you not achieve? Why did you not achieve them? Will you carry them on to 2022 and if not why?

I had to postpone my preliminary exam for the third time for reasons totally out of my control. At that moment, I felt hopeless, helpless, disappointed – all the negativity. At this moment, I feel okay about it because it was not my fault. I will take it next year for sure, but I will not be stressed out about it. I have learned it hard way that I should not plan my life around an academic event, and as long as I give it my 100%, anything else doesn’t matter.

Reflection prompt credit to Youtuber Ali Abdaal https://aliabdaal.com/

Leave a comment